Society of
Children's Book Writers
and Illustrators


logo by Sheryl Murray

treeWe know the conferences, retreats, and other events can be expensive, so SCBWI Oregon offers a number of scholarships each year. They are open to writer, illustrator, or writer/illustrator members of SCBWI who reside in Oregon or Clark County Washington only.

Funding for scholarships come from donations, such as from Barb Herkert in memory of her mother Dolores Barnes, a teacher for over 30 years who believed in the power of books to change children’s lives; from those faculty members asking for their honorariums to go to scholarships; and from the Oregon SCBWI budget.

2022 Scholarships

2020 winners will have their scholarships transferred to 2021 due to the pandemic.

Check back for more opportunities for 2022.

Full instructions are on the application form below.



How to Apply: Click here

Fill out the  application form at the link above and save it with your name in the title of the file. Send the application and any attachments to the Co-RAs and Illustrator Coordinator–see email addresses below. Your application must be emailed. The applicant’s name must be included on all attachments.  Email date must be on or before the deadline for each scholarship.

Laura Byrd –

Kim Kasch –

Kara Frost –

Notes:  By applying you are authorizing SCBWI Oregon to use your name in publicity if you are a winner. Scholarship recipients are not eligible for a second Scholarship. If the judges deem that no entries qualifiy, the award for any scholarship may not be given out.





Awarded for the 2020 Spring Conference, which is now the 2021 Summer Conference

Bree Bender, MG/YA Author

Toni Kennedy, Picture Book Author

Jihyan Meyer Kim, Illustrator